In fact, I am lying. Although the project is new for me, it already exists since 2008. Maybe by saying this, you know what I am talking about. If you don’t, this photo will tell you what it’s all about.

Today I will start my very own 365 Grateful Project. As 2012 will be a leap year, it will be my 365 + 1 Grateful Project.

How do I know about the project?

A couple of months ago I came across it on the internet and wanted to do something with the project somewhen, so I noted it down in one of my many notebooks and unfortunately, forgot about it. And then there was Debby, a friend of mine, who wrote this blog post. I knew that the moment was there to start and am very grateful to experience this journey together with her. A friend of Debby, Jill, will join us. I am looking forward already to getting to know her and to discover her photography.

Why am I doing this?

Maybe you are wondering why I am doing this. Well, 2011 wasn’t the most easy year for a couple of reasons. But I discovered and learnt a lot during the last months and I am very grateful for that. I am reading a lot and I had interesting and fascinating talks with people I ran across on my path. Even if circumstances could make it seem dark and could let you suffer a lot, you can change a lot for yourself. Our mind and our way of thinking are really powerful and Gratitude is one of the things which is really helpful in this process.

I read a lot about Gratitude and one of the things which is really recognizable for me, are these words: For years, I subscribed to the notion of an “attitude of gratitude.” I’ve since learned that an attitude is an orientation or a way of thinking and that “having an attitude” doesn’t always translate to a behavior. (Brown, B.,The Gifts of Imperfection. Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are. Hazelden, 2010, p. 78)

Brown writes -and I totally agree- that what really matters is the practice.

So, what does a gratitude practice look like? (…) (people) keeping gratitude journals, doing daily gratitude meditations or prayers, creating gratitude art, and even stopping during their stressfull, busy days to actually say these words out loud: “I am grateful for …” (…), there are a whole bunch of verbs involved. (Brown, B.,The Gifts of Imperfection. Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are. Hazelden, 2010, p. 78-79)

Speaking for myself, I am part of a FB group called ‘Just for today I am grateful for …’ and I already tried to keep a Gratitude Journal for myself, but … I don’t write regularly in it.

As I like to express myself by the medium of photography, I will post, from now on, one photo a day of something I am grateful for. The first month this will be pure photography. As creativity and writing are also very important to me, there is a little chance they will be involved too during this year, but then I will let you know.

Why do we start today?

The three of us (Debby, Jill and I) decided to start this project together at the autumnal equinox, the beginning of autumn. As nature is one of the most inspiring sources for my creativity, this is a very conscious choice. We all know that there is changing a lot in our Universe, due to Global Warming. Just for the record: I am not at all grateful for that, but as I think there will be a lot of nature photograpy in this project, the influence of the climate changes will be remarkable in my photos. I hope -by doing this project- to do my bit to the awakening of consciousness.

And something more …

A personal journal will accompany this photographic project. I will keep this journal private and am pretty sure posting one photo a day will motivate me to write regularly, i.e. each day, in this journal.

Maybe this can be a good motivation for you to practice Gratitude too? I would be grateful for that …

Dear greetz

cococita

